Learn Other Language

Study Language Together

@abs-oluteM's 2022 resolution kind of inspiring me to open this thread. How about we study together to improve our knowledge to 4 languages that I put in tag. Let me just share a bit of my background. 

English is not my first language, I study the written english formally in class since primary school. The way it's being taught to us really totally just in writing form, we never spoke the language itself until I'm in highschool. Since it's not taught intensively, even just to read novel was a struggle back then. 

As I graduated I took TOEFL, and the lesson in EF (English First) did help me a lot on reading and speaking portion. And even I spent many years studying english, it still haven't reached to natural fluency as native speaker. I often lost with words. I guess I need to revisit learning english more to improving it. Probably by listening more podcast / TED Talks and improving my spelling. Singing song in english also helpful for me. 

As of mandarin I did enroll to class on and off, and this one is really HARD! My tongue just seems can't roll to the right direction, not to mentioned about many different tones to make the word become meaningful lols. 

So in this thread, I think we can share any tips / knowledge about language that we're interested in. I think mostly will be english, korean, mandarin and japanese. 

Tag @LaLa@stroppyse@mademoiselle@NiteWalker@JenL that I think know a lot of language to share tips if any. Thanks in advance first. The rest feel free to share too. 

• Like 7
  • Haha 1
  • Awesome 1
  • Heart Eyes 2
  • Party! 1

ezgif-com-gif-maker-47.gif

@SilverMoonTea I did enroll to Mandarin class too but gave up because of my school schedule.

I learned basic Korean from a Korean girl, she stayed in my town for 3 months and taught Korean in the library.